Hearing God

It’s a beautiful morning outside my window. The temperature is in the high 40s and the sun is shining brightly. The bird feeder on my back deck is loaded with birds who are enjoying a breakfast of sunflower seeds, thistle and cherries. It’s a perfect moment that I almost wish I could freeze because I know that soon the phone will ring, or an email will pop up, or the washing machine will sing to me that it’s finished and then the peace of this moment will be gone. But, I am thankful for this moment and the moments like it throughout my day for these are the moments when I hear God. That still, quiet voice that whispers in my ear and affirms for me that I am His and that He is mine – an unconditional love that I have nowhere else but here.

That hearing God thing is sometimes difficult in our world today. Most of us live in cities or urban areas where there is noise all around us. We have technology at our fingertips and sometimes we forget that we can turn it off and turn on the awesome power of quiet. The Bible tells us that even Jesus went away by himself to pray. In Matthew 14:23 it says “After He had sent the crowds away, He went up on the mountain by Himself to pray;” The Son of God knew that He had to be alone and in the quiet to hear the voice of His Father and to learn and know God’s will for His life. Now that’s a God thing. If even He who is perfect needed quiet time alone to pray, what makes us think that we are any different. We more than He need this time. We more than Jesus ever could need to come before the Father and HEAR His voice. Without that, how do we get through our days and how do we stay focused on Him and His will for our lives?

I’m not saying it’s easy. And, I am certainly not saying that I get it right all the time or even a majority of the time, but on mornings like this, when all is quiet and the world almost stands still, I enter into His presence and let Him love me, speak to me and hear me as I confess my sins and my love for Him.

Hearing His voice, that’s a God thing. If you haven’t taken the time to hear Him lately, then today, “Be still and know that HE is God.” Psalm 46:10

Because it’s all about Him, and not about me.

Lynn

 

Leave a Reply

