Monday’s slipping up on me

It happens every week. Monday slips up on me and I find myself back at my desk wondering why I am doing what I do. While I know that I should be immensely grateful that I have a job and that I get to do something I enjoy, I am finding myself more and more disillusioned each day by the place where I am, not the thing that I do. I know teaching is what God has gifted me to do, and I know that it is by His grace that I found my way into this field after 20 years of doing other things, but, today, I realize that the where is as important as the what and so I find myself seeking His grace one more time to get me back to where I should be. Sounds complicate, huh? It’s not. I just realize it’s one of those right job, wrong place kind of moments. But, I trust Him to provide. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but in His time and in His way. I cling to His words in II Corinthians 12:9 where the Bible says, “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” (emphasis mine) That’s all that matters. He must increase and I must decrease. My weakness draws me to Him and I know that above all else, this is what He desires – me, on my knees before Him placing all my trust in Him, so I do.

How about you? Where are you on this Monday. Can you say your are right smack in the middle of God’s will for your life, or do you need, as I do, to trust Him to show you where you should be and then trust Him to provide the way to get there. That’s a scary thought for a Monday, but it’s one I am ready to embrace. His will, His way, His time.

My little piece of heaven on a Monday

Leave a Reply

