The Twelve Gifts of Christmas – Day 1

On the first day of Christmas my Father gave to me, salvation through the birth, death and resurrection of His son, Jesus Christ. “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have life everlasting.” John 3:16

This is the promise and this is the most important gift of Christmas. While what we celebrate at this time of year is the birth of Jesus, it is what He sacrificed as a man that is the important part of this precious gift. The question I am asking myself this Christmas is, what have I done with the salvation He gave me. I believed, I prayed the prayer, I was baptized. But then what? Do I live each day praising Him for this gift, thanking Him for His sacrifice and telling everyone I meet about the promise of eternal life? Not hardly… and yet He loves me anyway. The gift is still there. He doesn’t take it back because I don’t appreciate it. He offers it anew every day and waits for me to proclaim as the shepherds did in Luke 2:18 “They told everyone they met what the angels had said about this child. All who heard the sheepherders were impressed.”

Impressed! That’s what I should be. But in this age of iPhones and facebook, I feel I’ve lost the ability to be impressed and that makes me sad. I want to be impressed again that Christ came down from heaven, was born of Mary and then grew up and sacrificed himself on the cross so that I might live. No one on facebook would do that for me. No one I know would make that sacrifice so that I could live forever. So this Christmas, I plan to be impressed by the Christ child and to see Him not as an excuse to buy gifts for other people, but as the gift that is the reason we celebrate.

I hope you will celebrate this gift with me and that you, too, have the gift of salvation He so freely gives, but if you don’t, there is no better time to receive this gift of salvation than during the season of Christmas when we celebrate the birth of the gift – Jesus.

Nativity_tree2011

Leave a Reply

