The Twelve Gifts of Christmas – Day 4

On the fourth day of Christmas, my Father gave to me, the gift of quiet time to pray and hear Him speak.

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

“After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone,” Matthew 14:23

In our 24/7 world it is sometimes hard to be still. There are emails to check, tweets to read, facebook posts to write and read and the internet, Hulu, Nextflix and cable or Direct TV ready to fill our empty spaces and to overload our minds with mountains of knowledge that do nothing to bring us closer to our God. In fact, if we aren’t careful, the noise of the world and its tech tools can replace the understanding of how important it is to just sometimes be quiet.

I try to set aside time each day to pray and to hear God. But I find that when I know there is something He wants me to do or when I am not living to honor Him in all I do, that quiet time dwindles until it no longer exists. Then I find myself wondering why God doesn’t hear me and why I can’t feel Him with me.

As Christians, sometimes we forget that He doesn’t go anywhere. We, his children, walk away from. But, if we emulate Jesus, as we should, then that time should be the first thing that we think of each day. And, we should do as he did as recounted in Matthew 14:23. “After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone,” if time alone with the Father was important to Jesus and if He saw the gift it was then how much more should I.

Paul tells us that he “died daily to self” (I Corinthians 15:31) and as Christians we should do the same. The easiest way is by spending that quiet time with God hearing his voice and giving yourself to Him. Before I even get out of bed I try to dedicate my day to Jesus and ask him to guide my steps that day. But that is not enough. We must spend time reading and studying God’s word to know him more and to see his will for our lives. And, sometimes it’s nice to just be quiet and hear what the Father has to say.

I find it’s best to have a particular place where I always go to spend my time with God. When I’m home, it’s a big chair in the corner of my living room, when I’m at the beach, it’s bowed before Him in the sand and when I’m in the mountains, it is on the porch looking out at the grandeur of his handiwork.

Wherever you choose to find God, try to find some quiet time this Christmas to spend with the gift of Christmas. Pull up a chair and be still. God’s waiting to talk to you. Will you hear Him?

Lynn

IMG_1679

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Twelve Gifts of Christmas – Day 4

  1. Amen! Quiet time with God is a must. We need to schedule it on our calendars like we do other important appointments so we don’t forget and so we carve out that time.

    • I agree completely! I try to do that but am not always successful. I have committed to myself and to God that going forward He gets my best and I know because of that everything else in my life will have more purpose.\

Leave a Reply

