The Twelve Gifts of Christmas – Day 5

On the fifth day of Christmas, my Father gave to me, a command to love my brother, so that others would see Him in me.

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” John 13:34

If this command is for us to love one another, then as the first of the children from the Sandy Hook killings is buried, does that mean I must love the killer as well? While we grieve as a nation, as individuals and as parents, and as we ask questions that no one has answers for, if we believe this command from Jesus, then during this Christmas season we must love all those involved in the horrendous events of December 14, 2012. We don’t get to choose. We don’t get to pass judgement. The words of Jesus are quite clear. “Love one another.”

While it’s not always easy to follow His command, there are numerous examples in the Bible where Jesus loves the sinner, the murders and thieves and He expects us to do the same. As John recounts in John 8:7 Jesus said to those around him when He came upon the adulteress, “All right, but let the one who has never sinned throw the first stone!”

See, that’s what we sometimes forget. To God sin is sin. There are no degrees of sin, we do that is wrong, He views the same way. While that isn’t easy for us to accept, it is His way. “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the LORD. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.” Isaiah 55:8.

This is one of those gifts that today I think I might want to give back. I don’t want to love someone who could commit such a horrific act. But I know that I can’t accept SOME of His gifts unless I accept all of his gifts. So today, while I struggle to understand how this could happen, I still know that I must love that young man and lift him up to Abba Father just as I did the twenty children and the six adults who died because of him.

As Ann Voskamp reminded me on her blog today with a quote from Corrie Ten Boom. “There is no pit so deep, that God’s love is not deeper still.”

Lynn

"Let He who is without sin cast the first stone."

John 8:7

Leave a Reply

