The Twelve Gifts of Christmas – Day 8

On the eighth day of Christmas, my Father gave to me, the gift of intercession through Jesus Christ my King.

Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them. “ Hebrews 7:25

What a gift. Because of my relationship with Jesus, he sits of the right hand of the Father interceding for me and taking my petitions straight to God. There is no longer a need for sacrifices, for the curtain between me and the Holy of Holies because Jesus Christ, who is the Holy of Holies hears my pleas and he stands in for me. As Paul tells us in I Timothy 2:5 “For there is one God and one Mediator between God and men, the Man Christ Jesus.”

But how many of us use this gift expecting there to be an immediate response to our request and for that response to be “yes”? And, further, how many of us use this gift when we don’t want, or need something from God? How many of us use the gift, and then when we don’t get the immediate yes we wanted but rather get a “wait” or even a ” no”  we throw a temper tantrum and stop praying.

I’ve done it. I know you have, too.

The thing about this gift, though, is that God knows what we want AND what we need before we ever bring it to him. He’s waiting to give us the desires of our hearts. The Bible promises this in Matthew 7:7-8

“Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened.  For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is opened to everyone who knocks.”

But, the question we have to ask ourselves this Christmas is, do we really believe these words from Matthew or, are we trying to achieve things on our own and only after failing miserably asking, no pleading with Jesus for God to intervene.

James 4:2-3 puts it this way:

You desire but do not have, so you kill. You covet but you cannot get what you want, so you quarrel and fight. You do not have because you do not ask God.When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.”

that second part hurts. Wrong motives. How many times have I asked that I “may spend what (I) you get on (my) your pleasures.” I don’t want to think about that part. I don’t want to believe that I could ask because I am selfish or desirous, but I know I am and you know you are too.

This gift. This intercessor. We must learn to use this gift for things other than our wants. Only when we bring our needs to the Father and only when we realize that without Him we are lost does the price Jesus paid for this gift even begin to make sense.

Think about this. The next time you come before the throne and ask Jesus to go to the Father on your behalf, do it in expectation and in reverence for the gift it is. And then thank Him for both the gift of the intercessor and for the right to petition him for your needs.

It’s more than we deserve.

Lynn

Praying Man

Leave a Reply

