The Twelve Gifts of Christmas – Day 10

On the tenth day of Christmas, my Father gave to me the Bible, a book to read, with all the answers to the questions of how to live and how to be like Jesus who died for me.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” John 1:1

As Christians we have a road map for how to live and how to act and how to worship. It’s called the Bible and as John tells us it comes to us from God. Just another gift of Christmas that we should be paying particular attention to at this time of year. But for many of us not only is this the time when we look to the Bible for the story of Christ’s birth, it is the only time we dust off the front of the Bible and open its pages. And this pains God.

He gave us this gift as a way to share with us our legacy, our prophesy, our promise and our place in the Kingdom of God. But how often do we reach first for the Bible when we have a question or need to make a decision in our life? When the troubles of the world begin to close in, do we remember Jesus’ words in Matthew when he told those around Him, “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” Matthew 6:25-27.

Most of us just worry. We don’t look at these verses, we don’t claim them as God’s promise and therefore we don’t receive the victory that they promise. What if the next time you have a problem or the next time you are worried about how you’re going to make rent, or buy groceries or put gas in your car, you claim the next promise in Matthew 6:33-34 “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

I know. It’s not easy. I worry about EVERYTHING! My grown children, my husband, my brother, my friends and the list goes on. Sometimes I turn to the Bible when I exhausted every possible human solution. How about you?

I want this year to be different though. I want to claim God’s promise to not worry. I want to claim his promise to care for me and those I love. I want to commit to a deep study and understanding of the word of God and I want to further make a promise to Him and to myself to look first in His word for answers not last.

The Bible also reminds me that I don’t have to be perfect to be loved by the Father, I just have to be who I am in Him. And, as Paul did in I Corinthians 15, I have to remind myself that I have to die daily to self and live in the presence of God through His word to me, the Bible.

The gift of the word. What a great expression of His love for us and what a great way to begin our Christmas weekend and new year. Will you commit with me to study deeply the word of God next year and to hear Him above all the noise of this world? I hope so.

May this be one Christmas gift from Jesus that we use every day, not just on Sunday.

Lynn

444121_open_bible_2

Leave a Reply

