The Twelve Gifts of Christmas – An Afterword

As we approach the end of the calendar year and begin to plan for 2013, we realize that Christmas is already becoming a memory. The gifts have been unwrapped, the toys have been played with and the gift returns and exchanges have begun. My question for us is, what will we do with the gifts that Jesus gave us?

These gifts are free. They are given with love. They are eternal and they are ours for the taking. Jesus wants us to accept His gifts. He waits for us to use them, to share them, and to spread them to the people around us who need these gifts more than they need gift cards to Starbucks or cashmere sweaters or the latest, greatest toy of the season.

But how many of us will use the gifts of Christ and Christmas as we go in to the New Year? Will we allow the world to guide us to what is important, or will be keep the gifts of Christ ever in the forefront of our minds and hearts as we begin 2013.

My goal is to focus on one of each of the twelve gifts for a month next year and to find in the deeper study of them to gain more understanding of the importance and value of the gift. If Jesus is willing to give them to me through the shedding of his blood then how can I refuse them? Why would I refuse them?

I want relationship with Jesus more than I want any present that I received for Christmas. Without relationship with Him nothing else makes any difference in my life or the life of anyone I know. The key to relationship is putting in the time to get to know the person you want to have relationship with. And, in the person of Jesus that means spending time in the word, in prayer and in service.

May our prayer for 2013 be that of the Psalmist in Psalm 25:4-5

“Show me your ways, Lord,
teach me your paths.
 Guide me in your truth and teach me,
for you are God my Savior,
and my hope is in you all day long.”

Join me, won’t you?

Lynn

 

Leave a Reply

