Living the Gits of Christmas – Salvation

The Romans Road

OBible-Verses-about-Forgivenessver the last couple of weeks I’ve shared several instances from my own life that have confirmed my salvation and that i hope blessed you, encouraged you or challenged you in regard to your own salvation and trust in the gifts of Christmas. I think that any study of salvation must include what is known in Christian circles as the Romans road. I’ve looked at a number of different studies on Romans and the presentation of salvation reflected there. Today I want to share with you the Romans road and to ask you if you know that you know that you have walked this road and that you can truly say that Jesus, the gift of Christmas, is the greatest gift you’ve ever received.

If He is, give Him praise for what He has done for you. If He isn’t, please pray the prayer that will be at the end of this group of Bible verses and ask Him into your heart today. Then, tell someone about your decision. If you need someone to share with, I am happy to hear your story. I know my life has been changed because of Jesus’ love and yours will be too.

Step #1
Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” We have all sinned. We all have done things that are displeasing to God.

Step #2
Romans 5:12 “Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; and so death passed upon all men, for that all have sinned.” We all were born with sin in our hearts and we are under the power of sin’s control. No one is innocent, no one is free.

Step #3
Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” There is a consequence of sin, its result is death. The punishment that we have earned for our sins is death. Not just physical death, but a worse death, an eternal death, spiritual death!

Step #4
But wait look at the rest of the verse: Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” God has a free gift for you, Salvation. This gift can never be earned it must be received.

Step #5
Romans 5:8 “But God commended his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. ” The Lord Jesus Christ died for you! When Jesus died on the cross He paid the price of your sins, He paid the price for all sin. He took the sins of the entire world on Himself on the cross. He did this because He loves us and gave Himself for us! People can be free. Jesus’ resurrection from the dead proves that God accepted Jesus’ death as the payment for our sins.

Step #6
Romans 10:9 – 11 “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believes unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. For the Scripture saith, Whosoever believes on him shall not be ashamed.”

Step #7
Believe in the Lord Jesus Christ. Ask Him to come in to your heart, by faith, ask Him to forgive you.

Dear Father,

I know that I am a sinner and that I have done things that are displeasing to you. I acknowledge my sin and my need for you in my life. I ask you now to forgive me. I know you died on the cross to save me from my sin and that your blood covers me. I ask you now to take control of my life. I give it to you and ask that you help me to live each day to honor and please you. I love you Lord and I thank you for this gift you have given me.

Amen

Leave a Reply

