Living the Gifts of Christmas – Salvation

While I know that my salvation comes from my relationship with God through Jesus Christ the son, I never feel that salvation more than when I am sitting at the edge of the ocean looking out at the vastness toward the horizon. It is here that I realize more than anywhere else how small a part of God’s magnificent plan I am and my perspective returns. I know that the God who keeps the tides and who controls the seas has got me in the palm of His hand and I am at peace.

What a feeling. 315076_159025474178366_7403005_n

It always makes me think about the story from Mark 4 where Jesus is sleeping through the storm that terrifies his disciples and causes them alarm. I love how Jesus rebukes the storm which quiets and then turns to his disciples and says “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” Mark 4:40

I hear him say that to me. And I know, that my faith like theirs, is easy when the sea is quiet but how shaky it is when the seas are stormy. I find myself like the disciples in verse 38 of this chapter saying “Teacher, don’t you care if we (I) drown?”

He cares. I know He does. But still I doubt and still my faith is shaken and every once in a while I question my salvation. Because like the disciples, I am afraid and I don’t understand how Jesus can be so calm. I understand their response to his question when they say to each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!” Mark 4:41.

Who is this that hung the moon and the stars, created the Earth and all that is in it and yet still has time to hear my cries.

This is the God of salvation. The Jesus who loves me. The intercessor for my sins. It is “I AM WHO I AM.”Exodus 3:14.

And He is all that I need.

Lynn

Leave a Reply

