Grace for the Weekend

I have filled my weekend with things that make me happy and that refill my tank for the week ahead. I hope my friends that you will do the same. Weekends are made for redemption, reflection and rejuvenation.

This weekend I spent my Saturday attending to a talk by “Under the Tuscan Sun” author Frances Mayes, pictured below with me and her husband the poet, Edward Mayes where I was reminded how important our sense of home is to us. While I realize that Mrs. Mayes was equating this home to the earthly home we build and create with those we love, I couldn’t help but be reminded of the verse from I Peter 2:22-12:

 Friends, this world is not your home, so don’t make yourselves cozy in it. Don’t indulge your ego at the expense of your soul. Live an exemplary life among the natives so that your actions will refute their prejudices. Then they’ll be won over to God’s side and be there to join in the celebration when he arrives.” (MSG)

14942_425967177484193_1275646021_n

Enjoy your earthly home, make it a place where people love to visit and where the love of God shines through in all you do. And, may your table, like that of the Mayes, be filled with people and things you love and the pleasures of good, simple food well prepared and well enjoyed!

Lynn

For more information on Frances Mayes and her wonderful books visit her website at http://www.francesmayesbooks.com

Leave a Reply

