Living the Gifts of Christmas – Baptism

I remember it like it was yesterday. That day in June 1970 when I was baptized. Back then, the church provided white robes for those being baptized to wear over the white t-shirt and shorts you were told to bring for the service, and I remember being so excited when my mom led me into the dressing room in the basement of our church. Climbing the stairs up to the baptistry took my breath away and I shivered in the cold and with anticipation as I realized that I was about to take the same step that Jesus took when He went public with His ministry.

And that was enough reason for me to follow Him. If Jesus saw the reason to be submersed in the water and to come up a new creation, then I would go there, too. Because that’s one of the reasons for baptism. To follow Jesus’ example.

13 Then Jesus came from Galilee to the Jordan to be baptized by John. 14 But John tried to deter him, saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?”

15 Jesus replied, “Let it be so now; it is proper for us to do this to fulfill all righteousness.” Then John consented.

16 As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. 17 And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.” Matthew 3:13-17

But also, because Jesus commands us to be baptized. And, in turn, to go out and baptize others. In Matthew 28:19 He tells the disciples: “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,”

Baptism is the outward showing of the inward faith that we have to follow after Jesus. It says to those around us that we are new creations. As my pastor says it: “Buried with Him in baptism to walk in the newness of life.” (from Romans 6:4).

If you’ve accepted Jesus as your savior but not been baptized. Please talk to your pastor or a Christian friend about following Jesus in believer’s baptism. If you’ve been baptized, I’d love to hear your story. Please share it with me here.

Lynnbaptism pic1

 

Leave a Reply

