Living the Gifts of Christmas – Fruit of the Spirit

fruit_of_the_spiritBut the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23.

Today I wish I had more of everything on this list. I know that as a child of God I am promised the fruit and I know I have the fruit of the Spirit within me. But today. Today I am struggling with showing some of them.

I think I have the love thing down. I love God more than anything, then my husband, my children, my grandson, my family, friends, the people around me. But I can’t say I love the crazy driver who cut me off this morning. Or the homeless guy who is always panhandling on my way home. Or even a friend who hurt me and because I never said anything probably doesn’t even realize she hurt me.LOVE_edited-2

 

Most days I can muster joy, because I know that no one else controls my joy. That is all about me and I choose to live in a place of joy. But even that can be tested when those around me are anything but joyful and the words that spew out of their mouths is anything but joyful or loving or kind or gentle.

And peace. Well, I trust Jesus for that one. He said “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27. There may not be peace in my world, but there is peace in my heart – always.6209755662_62d571579c_z

 

 

 

 

Patience.God and I are working on that one. Not one of my strong suits and He knows it all too well. How do I know? Because He is constantly putting things in my life that require me to use patience and I fail miserably.

When it comes to kindness, I do that almost to a fault. So much in fact that many times I feel taken advantage of and then resentful and there goes my peace and joy. Know what I mean?

Goodness, faithfulness, gentleness… Well, I do try to exhibit all of these. I did a study on I Peter several years ago and ever since then I have tried to exhibit gentleness in my daily life. Goodness is something we all aspire to, but how often do we fail. Are we ever good enough?

Faithfulness. That one hurts. Both personally and in the eyes of God. I haven’t been faithful to Him over the years and I haven’t always been faithful to those I love, but I am a work in progress and so I keep trying.sharron-postcards-fruit-of-spirit-faithfulness

 

 

 

 

Self-control. Learning that one in all aspects of my life. Eating, working, sleeping, shopping… you know what I mean.

This month we’re going to look at the fruit in depth. I’m going to rely on Beth Moore’s teaching. One of my favorite studies ever to keep me grounded.

Hope you’ll join me. It’s going to be a great ride!

Lynn

 

Leave a Reply

