Living the Gifts of Christmas – Fruit of the Spirit

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7.

This verse sums it up. It conveys how I feel today. God’s peace is better than anything the world can offer. And, when we allow Him, He does guard our hearts from the concerns and worries of the world.

I have had a hard week. News from doctors can do that to you. But, through it all, I have felt a certain calm I didn’t think I could have. And I know why.

fruit_of_the_spiritThe conscious decision to live in the Fruit of the Spirit has made such a difference. When I would begin to feel anxiety or a little fear, I would hear God’s word in my head and I knew everything would be okay. I have been quoting the verse from Philippians 4:6.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

So, I’ve prayed. I’ve been thankful and I’ve counted gifts with Ann Voskamp to remind me of all I have.

Peace. Living it in the face of the unknown is a new experience for me.6209755662_62d571579c_z

Claiming it even when I didn’t want to helped me find it.

If Jesus promised me peace then who am I to question it. John 14:27 may be my new favorite verse. At least for this week of my look at the fruit of the spirit.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

While I don’t know that I enjoyed learning the value of this fruit in this way, I do know the peace of God is ours for the taking.

What a gift!

Lynn

christmas-2

Leave a Reply

