Living the Gift of Christmas – Fruit of the Spirit

Today is definitely Monday.

And, it’s the first day back from Spring Break for students at the university where I work in the graduate school. So this week’s posts are going to be about patience. I am going to need patience to make it through this week, and so are they. patience

I work on editing manuscripts for grad students and some of them are looking past the details to the prize awaiting them. I need them to realize this verse from Ecclesiastes and I need to remember it myself. When what I want to say is “I know how to do this and you don’t.” What I need to say is “Here, let me help you.”

“The end of a matter is better than its beginning, and patience is better than pride.” Ecclesiastes 7:8

Patience.

Never been one of my virtues. So have to love God and His sense of humor!

But, if I want to live the fruit and if I believe I possess the fruit of the spirit, then what better time and audience to display this particular gift.

They’re harried. I’ve been there.

They’re stressed. I understand that one, too.

They see the end of the tunnel. I see the obstacle they are allowing to stand in their way.

I love this quote from Beth Moore. It sums up how I am feeling about patience today.

sharron-postcards-fruit-of-spirit-patience

I try to let students know this all the time. It’s not about convenience. It’s about finishing and be the person we are made to be!

Lynn

 

 

Leave a Reply

