Living the Gifts of Christmas – Fruit of the Spirit

fruit_of_the_spiritpatience_tileMy brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing. If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind. James 2: 2-6

I love this group of verses.

And I love how they weave joy and patience, two of the fruit of the spirit together.

But, I have to admit that there are times when I don’t find joy in the trials of life. Patience, as I’ve said, not one of my strong suits.

So God still teaches me. He puts trials in my life and I fall. HARD!

Jump first, ask Him what to do after.

Never works.

I miss His best because I want what is right in front of me instead of waiting for His plan for me. Remember Jeremiah 29:11-14?

SS_WA_Jer29-11

I can count numerous times this year when I knew that He was saying “Be patient” and I was saying “Let’s go!”

Guess how those turned out.

So now. I wait. I am  patient. I repeat in my head over and over, “Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

Patience. I hear Him speak it.

Lack nothing.  I hear Him declare it to me.

Seek wisdom. So I pray and pray and wait and wait.

This time. It’s in His time.

Lesson learned.

patience

Lynn

Leave a Reply

