Living the Gifts of Christmas – Maundy Thursday

I can’t help but wonder what Jesus was thinking on this day 2,000 years ago.

As He prepared to have dinner with those closest to Him. bLargeLastSup

He knew.

He knew that before the night was over, one of them would betray Him.

“I am not referring to all of you; I know those I have chosen. But this is to fulfill this passage of Scripture: ‘He who shared my bread has turned against me.’“I am telling you now before it happens, so that when it does happen you will believe that I am who I am. 20 Very truly I tell you, whoever accepts anyone I send accepts me; and whoever accepts me accepts the one who sent me.” After  he had said this, Jesus was troubled in spirit and testified, “Very truly I tell you, one of you is going to betray me.” John 13:18-21

He knew.

And still He shared with them.

He broke bread with even Judas Iscariot.

He loved His betrayer.

And, He washed his feet.

FAQ_MaudyThursday

Lovingly.

Gently.

Jesus, Lord of all, became as a servant to care for the twelve.

Even Judas.

Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. John 13:16

ForgivenessI wonder, how many times I have been Judas.

How many times have I betrayed my Jesus. Not to the degree of Judas. Maybe.

But still. How many times.

I didn’t help someone in need.

I didn’t go visit someone who is sick.

I didn’t go to church.

I betrayed Him.

The one I claim to love.

So Jesus told him, “What you are about to do, do quickly.” But no one at the meal understood why Jesus said this to him.Since Judas had charge of the money, some thought Jesus was telling him to buy what was needed for the festival, or to give something to the poor. As soon as Judas had taken the bread, he went out. John 13:27b-30a.

Words directed at Judas, but maybe true of me.

This holy of days in this holiest of weeks. He beckons me to join Him at the table.The Lord's Supper

“This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.” In the same way, after supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.” For whenever you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes. I Corinthians 11:24-26.

And, He forgives me. Just as He forgave Judas. So, I break bread. I drink of the cup. Will you?

May today remind you of this, the greatest gift. That is the death and resurrection of Jesus. Savior and Lord.

Lynn

Leave a Reply

