Living the Gifts of Christmas – Quiet Time

I just finished reading a post at incourage that really spoke to me about quiet time.

And, sometimes we just need someone to give us permission to shut off from the world.1160_410743242339920_1758167864_n

We are so bound to our iPhones, iPads, Macs, PCs, game consoles, Netflix, On Demand, and the list goes on and on.

What happened to quiet?

What happened to turning off the world so that we could hear the inner voice?

God has got to be thinking that we are the most ungrateful creatures he made.

All He wants is time with us and all we want is to know who’s doing what, when and with whom.

And, who’s on Facebook right now and why didn’t they include me.

When. Does. It. Stop.

Jesus recognized the need to be quiet. He often left the multitudes and the disciples and went off alone to pray and to hear the Father’s voice.

We can’t even turn off the TV to pray over our dinner.

Jesus wrestled with the Father in the Garden of Gethsemane to the point of crying tears of blood.

We are so desensitized to the world around us that many of us don’t cry anymore.

Much less cry out to God,

“Father, if you are willing, please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.” Luke 22:42.

No, we just want Him to make the way easy for us even though we are told in scripture “But small is the gate and narrow: the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Matthew 7:14cropped-p10106533.jpg

I am just as guilty as the next person. I am sitting at my desk right now with two monitors looking at me. One open to Facebook, one open to my online Bible study and to this blog.

I know I need the connection.

But I also know that more importantly I need fellowship.

Not just with a computer screen.

Not just with family and friends.

I need fellowship with the one who made me.

The one who says,

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.” Revelation 3:20

So today and tomorrow and for all the days after. Walk away.

At least for a little while.

I’ll walk away from the gadgets, the noise and the intrusion.

Find time for God. IMG_1679

He always has time for me. (you)

Lynn

Leave a Reply

