Stressed-Less Living – Rest and Repent

God, the Master, The Holy of Israel, has this solemn counsel: “Your salvation requires you to turn back to me and stop your silly efforts to save yourselves. Your strength will come from settling down in complete dependence on me—The very thing you’ve been unwilling to do. Isaiah 30:15.

I have gone back to this verse over and over this week. I love the first part where Isaiah tells us that the Lord God wants us to turn back to Him putting our strength in Him and depending on Him for everything. But the part of the verse that keeps drawing me back is where Isaiah say this is “The very thing you’ve been unwilling to do.”

Guilty.

And guilty again.

And full of stories of my “silly efforts” to save myself.

I so want to “settle down in complete dependence on me (God).”Isaiah30-15YourStrength

But I can’t. Or, I won’t. And, that causes more stress. And more distance between God and me. And, the never ending circle continues.

I want to say that this time is going to be different.

I want to promise God that this time I’ll make it last.

Does he hear empty promises when I say this?

Will He laugh at me and nod his head like a loving father who knows his child cannot possibly do what they are promising to do?

Or, will he just open his arms again and let me fall right in.

I want him to.

I need hm to.

I beg him to.

And Isaiah tells us in Isaiah 30:18 that

” …the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore he will rise up to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!”

He shows me compassion. The God of the universe who made everything and is everything. He “blesses” me. And then in verses 20 and 21 Isaiah says

“Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them. Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

I hear that voice. You know, the one that says “This is the way; walk in it.”

That’s the real secret for me of this chapter.

That’s the key to stressed-less living.

He shows me the way. He provides the teachers. (Thanks Tracie and Melissa and the OBS crew) I just have to listen.

This_is_the_way_isaiah

 

Leave a Reply

