My Hope is in Christ – Stressed-Less Living

Anyone who knows me, knows that I can sometimes be a little stubborn. And, it sometimes takes me more than one time to “get it” so to speak.

Even with God.

I’m like King David in that way.

God speaks to me and tells me he wants me to do something.

And my response is “Really God?’ Are you sure?”

This weekend has been one of those times.

Saturday I attended “Uniquely You” women’s conference with Renee Swope author of “A Confident Heart”. During the course of her workshops, she challenged those of us in attendance to have radical hope and confidence, what she has coined as “Godfidence”.DSC00146

One thing she said really stuck with me especially as I am dealing with adult children, the possibility of a new job (actually returning to an old job :-)) and changing relationships with friends both near and far. What did she say?

“You can’t put your hope in _________ (children, husband, job, friends or anything earthly), it/they will always disappoint you.”

Okay, got it. Right?

Apparently not.

Sunday morning in church our pastor was finishing up a sermon series on the Beatitudes. His message centered around Matthew 7:24-29.

At one point he told a story about his son as illustration and made this comment. “I love Nathan more than anything. He’s my son, but I can’t put my hope in him because he will disappoint me. I have to put my hope in Jesus.”

Sound familiar?

It gets better.

625439_408667745895242_189186595_nToday, I started reading Chapter 4 of “Stressed-Less Living” by Tracie Miles and as I am reading through the suggested verses for the chapter I came across this:

“It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in humans.” Psalm 118:8.

Well, alrighty then.

If I had any doubt that God was sending me a message Saturday, or even Sunday, I cannot deny it now.

 

When He speaks three times I listen.

Ashamed it takes that long, yes.

Grateful that He pursues me like this.

You better believe it.

I am on my knees with my arms wide open and my hands facing up trusting Him alone to supply my needs.

And, to those God used to bring me the message.

Thank you.

Thank you for being a vessel God can use.

Thank you for heeding the call.

Thank you for being part of the great adventure God has for me.Psal118_8

 

 

Leave a Reply

