Stressed Less – I Don’t Think So!

“Trust in the Lord and do good.Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires. Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you.” Psalm 37:3-5

We’re into week 5 of the “Stressed -Less Living” Bible study and just when I think that I am finally getting a handle on my stress, it rears its ugly head again and smacks me in the face.

And, I have no one to blame but me.

As I told a friend today in a text, I am such a loser right now. I’m over committing, under performing and forgetting way too much.

The reason.

I’m a people pleaser.

Yes. I said it.

I admit it.

My stress is brought on not by any of the people in my life but by my inability to say one simple word.

The word no made from jigsaw puzzle pieces

If I say no to things I am afraid people won’t like me.

I might disappoint them.

I might not get asked the next time there’s

A play.

A concert.

A trip to the beach.

A Bible study with a friend.

A family vacation.

A women’s retreat with my sister-in-law.

So I commit. I say yes.

And then, I disappoint.

Those around me.

Myself.

God.

In the last week, I can think of three separate instances where I’ve committed to do something and then not done it.

Wow!

And right in the middle of these times was a great sermon by my pastor where he implored us to think about how we are perceived by those around us. Do we look like Christians, or just say we’re Christians.

I think right now I fall into the latter group and that stresses me even more.

But, knowing the reason you are stressed is the first step to overcoming stress. And, like Tracie tells us about Hannah in I Samuel, I too need to get on my knees before God and stay there until He gives me what I need.

A release from needing to please everyone.

A renewed love for Him and for what really matters to Him.

An absence of self-induced stress and the feeling of peace that will bring.DSC00088

 

 

Leave a Reply

