Stressed-Less Living – Pride

“Whether we want to admit it or not, we need God.” Tracie Miles

How true.

God reminds me of this everyday.

And today, He reminded me of it again.

I stepped outside my comfort zone today.

I did an interview on a local radio station to promote the National Parkinson Foundation’s Moving Day event in my hometown.

See, I have a chronic cough. One of those that nobody can figure out and that crops up when I’m stressed or cold or talking or eating. You know, just everyday things.

I think of the cough as my thorn. Like Paul God has given me something to remind me that I am not in control, He is.

If I wanted to boast, I would be no fool in doing so, because I would be telling the truth. But I won’t do it, because I don’t want anyone to give me credit beyond what they can see in my life or hear in my message, even though I have received such wonderful revelations from God. So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud. 2 Corinthians 12:5-7

I’ve asked God to take it away. I’ve begged Him to make it stop, but it’s still there. And, it keeps me humble. I find myself apologizing for it, excusing myself for it and learning to be quieter because of it.

Like Paul.

Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

And, like Paul, when I am weak I am strong.

I felt it on that radio show today.

His spirit.

His guidance.

His comfort.

I told my story of caring for my mother who was afflicted with Parkinson’s Disease.

And I hope that people heard it and that despite my cough (which only happened once) they felt the conviction I feel for this cause.

Because my mom. She taught me Paul’s lesson better than anyone else ever could.

When she was weak, He was strong. He lifted her up and carried her through this debilitating illness and when she had blessed the lives he had for her to bless and when she had taught me the lessons I needed to learn.

He took her home.

I miss her every moment of every day.

But, she is safe now. Whole. She is happy and there is no more pain.

momandmeCaring for my mom was one of the greatest gifts God ever gave me.

Remembering her and the quiet confidence she always had reminds me how much I need God.

So,

I abide.

 

(To donate, visit:  https://secure3.convio.net/prkorg/site/SPageServer?pagename=moving_day_pc2. It would mean a lot to all of us fighting for a cure)

 

 

Leave a Reply

