You can rest!

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30 (MSG)

A few weeks ago I attended a women’s retreat and as part of the service, we were asked to write on a card the things in our lives that were weighing on us. Those things we couldn’t seem to give up. To give to God. Then we were asked to place them in a bowl and to walk away from them taking with us a card that contained a message for us from God.

Mine read, “You can rest.”

And, it included these verses from Matthew.

I have the card on my refrigerator where I can see it every time I walk into my kitchen. I also wrote the message in my Bible and have it on a card at my desk.

You know why, right?

It’s hard for me, as a woman, – wife, mother, grandmother, sister, friend, employee, volunteer – to do that.

rest

If I’m still, I feel like I’m neglecting someone or something that needs me.

But, even Jesus rested.

Jesus recognized the importance of getting away and taking the time to recharge and rejuvenate so that he could give the best of himself to those who needed and still need him.8ab8cd842c647e08262b5e6cf3f315ab

My prayer is that I can learn to do the same. And, that you can too.

Let’s take our cue from Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith.

May we rest in him and share with him the burdens of our hearts.

 

 

IMG_0810

“But He Himself would often slip away to the wilderness and pray.” Luke 5:16

He’s waiting.

Leave a Reply

