Stressed-Less Living – Reminders

It’s been one of those weeks.

You know.

The kind that eat away at you.

When day upon day is full of strife or stress or … both.

Days when it seems the piles of work, housework, bills, and commitments are way bigger than you are.

And you don’t even have time for God.

That was me this week.

Then, today, I finally sat down and read Chapter 8 of “Stressed-Less Living”. 625439_408667745895242_189186595_n

Ouch!

On page 164 Tracie writes “Let’s face it, if we are too busy to spend time with God, then we are absolutely way too busy.”

She got me.

Again.

This entire chapter was a reminder to me that NOTHING should come before God. NOTHING.

When it does, the piles in my life are overwhelming.

The choices I make are reactions and not thoughtful God centered plans.

I love the Bible verses she uses in this chapter as well.

I can’t say I’ve ever really read the verse from Deuteronomy 11:18 that says, “Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.” But what a picture of God’s plan!

His word.

Our hands.

Our foreheads.

pray

Do we live these words? Is the word of God tied as a symbol on my hand? Do I know scripture well enough that when the world does get crazy and life does come crashing in, I turn there first, not last.

My prayer is that now it will be. My promise to God and to myself is to learn scripture so that I have it whatever the circumstance.

I want my life to be grounded in Him. Not in circumstance. I want to say like David in 2 Samuel 22:33

“It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect.”

Thank you, Tracie, for the reminder.

Lynn

Psalm 91.4

13 thoughts on “Stressed-Less Living – Reminders

  1. Hello Lynn, Thank you for sharing your vulnerability and being real. Your encouragement with Deut 11:18 truly spoke to my heart and I come into agreement with your crafted prayer for everyone who reads this and seeks to imprint His word in their hearts, minds, hands and foreheads. Amen

  2. I hear you on this one. How can we ever be to busy fit God? I know we are or can be. I am grateful for this study and also to be able to pop bye my fellow Sisters’ blogs and get different perspectives. Great work!

    Love in Christ,

    Tristine

  3. So sorry for the typos! I agree. I can get cranky if something gets in the way of my time. It does make a difference. God has been so God to us lately. My husband is light-years from where he was after his massive strike last year. He is getting stringer and I think I still have fear of “letting go”. I am making progress forever. I choose to see things as God instructs. I am grateful for ask He has Done.

    Take care

  4. I loved your blog and I agree the verses she chose in this book have blessed me like no other. I love verse mapping and breaking each one of them down. Perhaps that’s why or maybe it is because I am really savoring each one. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

    • I know, me too! I also love how God is working through my pastor and others to bring the same message to me when Tracie does. Look for my blog later today to see how He works all for his glory and his purpose.

      • Me too! I love these verses. I am also getting similar messages at church. Things are getting better. Thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

