Stressed-Less Living – The Reset

Here I am in week 11 of my Stressed-Less Living Bible Study and I feel like God is not just talking to me, he’s shouting from the mountaintops to be sure I hear him. The reading on Romans 8 has been a great reminder to me of whose I am and how important I am to him. Verse 16 says it this way:

“The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.”

Got i1.

Then there’sour focus verse for this week.pinterest-pin-11-300x300

That’s been me this week. The world has closed in and circumstances have caused me to doubt that God is big enough to handle my problems. Just like Tracie says in Chapter 11, I think he’s either too busy or just not interested.

Both my husband and I got calls from our doctors that we had possible health issues that needed to be addressed.

Mine we were used to. This would be my fifth breast biopsy in the last 15 years and all had been benign so we felt good about that.

But when his doctor mentioned that his PSA level was high and we needed to discuss options, both of us were floored. He hasn’t felt well for a long time and this possibility makes sense.

CANCER.The thought terrifies me. We don’t know that this is what is going on, but our minds immediately go there. It could be any number of things but I think as humans we always assume the worst and hope for the best. That’s how I was feeling when I got home yesterday anyway.

Then I read chapter 11 and particularly Step 3 to my husband and we both knew and vowed to each other that no matter what the circumstances our faith is in God .

We both knew this was God’s message just for us. Tracie says “Remember that the Lord never grows weary, and he knows how to handle our problems much better than we do.”  And, “… it always seems that when one stressful situation reaches the maximum level, another stressful situation falls in right behind it.” WOW!!!
God so has me pegged.

I’ve hit the reset button and I pray you will too. In case you missed it or you aren’t involved in the study, here are Tracie’s steps to resetting your life.

  1. Realign your life to God’s word.Cross-Messiah_595
  2. Recognize your need for God’s help.
  3. Adjust your focus to God, not your circumstances.
  4. Be filled with the Holy Spirit.
  5. Be faithful in your prayer life.
  6. Believe God is Who He says He is.

That last one, I’m claiming it and proclaiming it to whomever will listen.

 Now when Jesus came into the district of Caesarea Philippi, He was asking His disciples, “Who do people say that the Son of Man is?” And they said, “Some say John the Baptist; and others,Elijah; but still others,Jeremiah, or one of the prophets.” He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” Matthew 16:13-16 (emphasis mine)

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Stressed-Less Living – The Reset

  1. Thanks for sharing and I will be praying with you the last reset button “Believe God is Who He says He is.” I like this in your post “Then I read chapter 11 and particularly Step 3 to my husband and we both knew and vowed to each other that no matter what the circumstances our faith is in God .” Praying for strength and blessings on your lives as you face medical issues.

    • Thank you! The results of my appointment revealed an inflamed lymph node so I am good. My husband’s appointment is on July 2nd. We are both praying for positive results but believing God that whatever the outcome HE is in control.

  2. I love this! Thank you for sharing your beautiful thoughts. I love the quote of Tracie’s you have about God taking better care than anyone. I had to learn this the hard way over the year in regards to my husband after his stroke. I had to”step out of the way” so God could move in. I had to reset my heart to back off and wow. God has worked miracles in breaking and every aspect of or life. We are very blessed. Thank you again for this wonderful contribution.

    Tristine

Leave a Reply

