Grace by the Book – God’s Shelter

For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock. Psalm 27:5IMG_0802

I don’t set out to look for trouble.

I certainly don’t want any more than my share.

But the last few months, the last few weeks, trouble just seems to surround me.

Not the kind that “gets you in trouble”.

The kind that makes my heart troubled.

I keep hearing the verse in my head.

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God;believe also in me.” John 14:1

I do believe. But my heart is troubled.

It’s the humanness I think.

When someone you love is sick or distant or has lost their job, their home, someone close to them. Or when it’s a friend who is having to make decisions about aging parents, prodigal adult children, health scares.

I can’t help but be troubled.

And, when the someone who is hurting is the one on Earth I love the most, I pray, I believe and I trust.

God puts me on that high rock. He protects me from the cynicism of the world. From the contempt of those who don’t know me. From friends who are friends in name only.

God shelters me and I get the visual for the verse in Psalm 91.Mother Swan and chicksHe will cover you with his feathers,
    and under his wings you will find refuge;
    his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
 You will not fear the terror of night,
    nor the arrow that flies by day,
 nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
    nor the plague that destroys at midday. Psalm 91:4-6

Shelter. God’s shelter. He promises it again and again in his word.

So I claim it. Like Moses. Like the psalmist sheltered like a chick. Like the people of Isreal and the early Christians.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. Isaiah 43:2

God’s shelter. My promise.

Amen

Leave a Reply

