Stressed-Less Living – Martha, Martha

I just had to giggle last night as I read Chapter 12 of Stressed-Less Living.625439_408667745895242_189186595_n

Mary and Martha.

Really!!!

I love God’s sense of humor, his sense of timing and his constant urging.

You see, it happened again this week.

God using what I hear, see and read to get His ultimate plan through my thick skull.

As I’ve mentioned before I start most mornings watching Joyce Meyers. And yesterday, guess what she talked about.

Go ahead.

Guess.

Yeah, that’s right.

Mary and Martha.

Then yesterday at a work retreat, out of the blue I was asked to prepare a special dessert for a co-worker whose last day is Friday. I wanted to say no, but my boss was there and so was everyone else in my office. So, I said yes. I had to, right?

What???? How did that happen?

Oh yeah, I know. Busy making things and bringing them in. Trying to impress those I work with. Trying to be sure everything is perfect. Being busy.

Always.

After complaining about that experience to my husband, I pick up Tracie’s book and start to read chapter 12. From the very first sentence I knew where we were headed.

And, I giggled.

That’s right.

I giggled. And shook my head. And had a conversation right there with God.

See, I’m a Martha.

I know I am.

I worry. I clean. I fret. I clean. I complain about lack of time and then invite 10 people over for dinner. And, I clean.

I told God. I told him.

I want to be a Mary.

SLL-Ch-12-Verse-Graphic

But I’m afraid if I don’t do, then no one will.

You know what he told me.

That’s right. He told me to choose the “one thing.”

So I am.

And those I love will be fine.

The young wives I love will pick up the slack and I will allow them to do so.

Saying no will start to come more easily.The word no made from jigsaw puzzle pieces

Choosing will become not a stressful event, but a calming influence.

And, I will try to be who Mary was.

“Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:42b

Let me sit at his feet, hear his word and live the life he has planned for me. And may I, like the prophet in Lamentations say:

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” Lamentations 3:22-24
275423333431084054_11dYt0ge_f

6 thoughts on “Stressed-Less Living – Martha, Martha

  1. It’s awesome how God speaks to us and confirms things for us through all the different things we encounter. He truly does pay attention to and work in all the details of our lives. I loved your post. That’s great that you were able to laugh and then immediately talk with God and straighten things out. Praying for strength for you to stay true to your commitment to becoming more like Mary.

  2. You hit it the nail on the head, again! I agree! I am a “recovering-Martha”, wanting to be more like Mary. I am so thankful for this study and how I am learning to sit at His feet. The Holy Spirit has moved me in so many ways, and like God, he usually comes in at the last minute. It was only recently that I have felt His presence most of the time. I KNOW He is with me, and I have shed my ways as a Martha. Like YOU, I giggle and look up at God when things happen like they happened to you. He speaks to us in many ways and wow, He surely was speaking with you. Thanks for your incredible words of wisdom, the pictures, and the verses. Love you Sweet Sister!

    • Just saw this! We’ve had a crazy weekend! You are very welcome! I’m glad you like the post.

      God is still speaking to me and I’ll be blogging about it along the way. I am trying to be a Mary, but I keep finding myself slipping back in to Martha mode. My constant prayer is that God brings me into his presence daily and that he reminds me always of “that which is better.”

      In Him,
      Lynn

Leave a Reply

