Living God’s Grace When Life doesn’t Turn out Quite Like You Plan

Ten years ago number one son married the girl he believed was his forever love. Just shy of his 19th birthday his dad and I gave our blessing to the union because the alternative was to lose our son.

Not an option.IMG_0535

The marriage was full of love, passion and fun, but also full of struggle and competition. These two young adults were not only learning to be grown-ups, but also learning to care about someone other than themselves. They were grounded in their faith, their families and their friends. IMG_0483

But that wasn’t enough.

Six years after that beautiful August afternoon, my daughter in love, decided she needed something more. She walked away from the love of her life to see what she had missed by marrying at 18.

Devastated doesn’t begin to describe number one son after this happened.

He tried everything to work out the issues to get her to come home, but nothing worked. She didn’t want to be with him or with our family.

So he moved on.

Slowly.Mother Swan and chicks

Painstakingly.

Sometimes faltering.

But always covered in our prayers and the prayers of those who love him.

Tucked under God’s wing. Wrapped in his love.

It’s been four years now since she walked away.

Regret has come to her. Freedom to him. Reconciliation has occurred, in that they are now friends.

But reconciliation as a couple won’t happen. Too much hurt, too much pain. Life goes on.

Yesterday number one son called me to ask me if I remembered where we were ten years before.

How could I forget.

He’s a better man now. Lessons learned. Battles won. I wish I could say faith restored.

We’re working on that one.

I hold on to the God’s promise in Jeremiah 29:11-14

“I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.When you call on me, when you come and pray to me, I’ll listen.When you come looking for me, you’ll find me. Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you won’t be disappointed. I’ll turn things around for you. I’ll bring you back from all the countries into which I drove you.”

and Proverbs 22:6, “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

And, I pray.

For him,

and for her…

without ceasing.  (I Thessalonians 5:17)

 

Leave a Reply

