Say What! – Saying “Yes” to God

It’s been a long week.

The first week back at the beginning of the school year always is.

Day after day of workshops, meetings and decorating the classroom.

All in anticipation of the first day with students.

I know that being back at the high school where I am is the right place for me. I know it’s my “yes” to God.

But, He didn’t mention how hard the the yes was going to be. Nor did He mention how much He was going to expect of me because I chose to to say yes in obedience rather than continue to just get through my life hoping that I was doing what He wanted from me.

God’s been prodding me all week to get back into our study. I’ve resisted. Too much other stuff to read and digest. Too few hours of sleep adjusting back to a teacher’s schedule. And too much tired. From a day of sitting, not doing, and listening not teaching. I pushed Him away. Tried to stay away from my “secret place” as Lysa refers to time with God in chapter 3.

Today, however, the first day of classes, I took the time. God and I were at a point where He wasn’t going to take no for an answer.

26So, I dove in to chapter two and answered the questions at the end.

When I got to page 41 and the verses Lysa included there, I had an “Aha” moment.

I know God put those verses there for me. They flowed perfectly with the devotional our school administrator gave yesterday and with the challenge he presented us with for this school year.

I won’t go into a lot of detail here, but what he challenged us to do was to approach the school year, our students, their families and all those we meet from an “offensive” rather than a “defensive” position.

Our faith should be the first thing people see in us, not something we apologize for. Especially not in a Christian school!

Lysa uses the Message version of the passage from Romans 9 and it resonated  with me so much that I sent it along to that school administrator. I believe it is a further challenge of what and how we, as Christians, should be.

Did you catch it?

Did it grab you?

Did you feel that “ah” moment?

Just in case you missed it, here it is again.

Hosea put it well: I’ll call nobodies and make them somebodies; I’ll call the unloved and make them beloved. In the place where they yelled out, “You’re nobody!” they’re calling you “God’s living children.” Romans 9:25-26

And then in verses 30-33:

How can we sum this up? All those people who didn’t seem interested in what God was doing actually embraced what God was doing as he straightened out their lives. And Israel, who seemed so interested in reading and talking about what God was doing, missed it. How could they miss it? Because instead of trusting God, they took over. They were absorbed in what they themselves were doing. They were so absorbed in their “God projects” that they didn’t notice God right in front of them, like a huge rock in the middle of the road. And so they stumbled into him and went sprawling. Isaiah (again!) gives us the metaphor for pulling this together: Careful! I’ve put a huge stone on the road to Mount Zion, a stone you can’t get around. But the stone is me! If you’re looking for me, you’ll find me on the way, not in the way. (emphasis mine).IMG_0802

I want to find God on the way to everything I do this school year. I don’t want to be so absorbed in the “God projects” that I miss the “God opportunities”.

I pray my yes will be yes and my offense will be strong.

Not for me.

For Him.

2 thoughts on “Say What! – Saying “Yes” to God

  1. Loved reading your blog and I loved that part about making nobodies somebodies too! Wishing you your best school year yet. I have subbed but my aha moment was listening to God as I said Say What that I need to resign and help my daughter-in-law take care of our first grandbaby born this week with EB. He is going to need a lot of attention. That’s hard for me to give up taking care of special needs jr. high kids and others. I loved my job, but God has given me a bigger one. Thanks for this beautiful blog. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

    • Debbie,

      I am glad you enjoyed the post. My story is similar to yours in that in 2006 God asked me to step away from teaching and the job I loved to take care of my mom who was in the late stages of Parkinson’s Disease. I honored His plan and took care of her until she passed away in 2010 and now, He has opened the door for me to get back into teaching at the same Christian school. Saying yes to God sometimes seems to not make sense to us and can be very scary, but His plan is so much better than mine could ever be!

      I know He is smiling down at you and that your yes to Him will be the most fulfilling of your life.

      I’ll be praying for you.

      In Him,
      Lynn

Leave a Reply

