Be an Encourager – Saying Yes to God

Silly me.

I thought that saying yes to God meant life would just fall into place and everything would be wonderful.

What was I thinking!

Saying yes to God really means that Satan is on a rampage. Trying as hard as he can to derail my commitment.

Yesterday, he had me.

I was not the person I knew God intended me to be.

I was not the person I wanted to be.

I was not the person my students deserved.

God, however, was paying attention.

And, today, He let me know it in a BIG way!

In the past, I’ve written about how I, like David, sometimes have to hear from God not once, not twice, but sometimes three times. And, each time, I kind of go “Really God?” You sure???

So, today, God very clearly told me “Be an encourager.”

Our pastor spoke at chapel this morning. His message.

Be a giver. Choose to encourage.

His example.

David.

Then the ladies at inCourage posted this 532099_10151860061538674_870882802_nOuch!

That one hurt a little.

I wasn’t sure I spoke love to my students yesterday.

I know I wasn’t encouraging.

When I came back to my classroom after lunch, I had this post from “Take Back Your Lunch”.1174759_674836649211854_2122322216_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did this today.

After listening to Pastor and reading the post from inCourage, I looked at my students with new eyes today. I didn’t want to give up on them only four days into the school year.

I wouldn’t give up on them.

I won’t give up on them.

Like Romans 9:25-25 says:

“Hosea put it well: I’ll call nobodies and make them somebodies; I’ll call the unloved and make them beloved.  In the place where they yelled out, “You’re nobody!” they’re calling you “God’s living children.””

 

10 thoughts on “Be an Encourager – Saying Yes to God

  1. Oh how I LOVE this! You have inspired me to pour on the encouragement and choose more life-giving words with my loved ones and those God puts in my path.

  2. You are absolutely correct: Satan does not let up! I had no sooner made a # YestoGod commitment, when I failed, on day one! But it is awesome how the messages just keep on coming from all directions. Be blessed!

  3. I’ll call nobodies and make them somebodies!! I love that line from Romans. I think there are times when we all feel that we don’t make a difference, but we do. God uses the ordinary to become extraordinary. Blessings to you and your students in the upcoming school year.

    • I know, right! I really hadn’t paid much attention to that verse until Lysa gave us the Message translation. What a powerful message! Thank you! I am looking forward to a great year. My group is seniors and “Be an Encourager” is going to be our class motto. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what God does!

Leave a Reply

