Be anxious for nothing…part 2

My last post was a lament about the anxiety I was experiencing and the feeling of despair I was starting to allow to overwhelm me.

Last week was overwhelming. But looking this past Sunday at the prospect of my schedule this week caused me to throw my hands up and cry out “How am I going to get all this done?”

In my quiet time on Monday I prayed that God would help me to find the time to do all I had to do this week. I asked him to show me the important things, the “good things” as Mary chose in the story of Mary and Martha. SLL-Ch-12-Verse-Graphic

I long to hear Jesus say about me “… but only one thing is needed. Lynn (Mary) has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:42

Somehow, though, I just didn’t see that happening. I know that the good He wants me to choose is time with Him. Time reflecting on how I fit into His plan. How I am supposed to live His plan in my life.

But, there’s that list.

All those things.

Sunday is family time.

Monday there’s basketball to work.

Tuesday I teach my college class.

And on it goes.

Then God steps in. He hears my cry. He provides my way to Him.

He gives me a snow day.1501918

In Florida.

Only God.

So, I will enjoy the day away from students tomorrow.

But I more importantly will enjoy my with my Father. My Abba.

I just keep hearing the voice in my head “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6.

Don’t ever think God doesn’t hear our cries.

After all, He gave me a snow day!

Leave a Reply

