Happy Father’s Day

Deuteronomy 6:6-9 – “These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.”(NIV)

Every day I am thankful to God for giving me the daddy He did.

He was the strongest man I ever knew.

He loved more deeply than anyone else I’ve ever known.Daddy062

He taught my brother and me to be people of integrity.

He showed me how to love God.

Love my family.

Love my friends.

And, love myself.

When he died, I thought I would, too.

His death left a hole in my heart.

It made me angry with God.

I tried to run.

But there was nowhere to run.

Except into the arms of

the One who was and is and is to come.

1305785931_l-1He embraced me.

He welcomed me.

He enveloped me.

He truly became my Abba.

I still miss my daddy.

I know I always will.

But, I also know I have a Father who is always with me.

And, a daddy I will see again in heaven one day.

So, on Father’s Day, I will honor the daddy I lost, rejoice in the Father I serve and love the man who is the father of my two sons.

I’m thankful for the legacy my daddy left and for the one my husband is creating.DSC01093

He has taught our son to be a man and a father.

I’m grateful.

I’m thankful.

I am blessed.

IMG_2270

So, Happy Father’s Day to all the dads in my life and to all the dads everywhere. May you know the love of your earthly family and feel the love of your heavenly Father today and every day.

flat,550x550,075,f

Leave a Reply

